The Lemniscate

I wonder when I lie in my coffin

And leave temporal things behind…

Will you be the one near the casket,

Searching for words you cannot find?

Or will there be a distance,

A time created rift?

A chasm created by divergent life

That death would have to bridge.

Would you stand at the pulpit

And deliver a heartfelt goodbye?

Looking back through the pages,

Will you remember the once upon a time?

Or will you be the one listening?

To someone who took your place,

Speaking the eulogy,

You once thought you would say.

Will you wonder if it were real?

Everything we wrote in the stars…

Will it fade as a child’s day dream?

Or will it be embossed in your heart?

Whichever place you choose to stand,

The day I celebrate my journey’s end.

If I were there I would take your hand,

And show you our remember whens…

No matter what happened along the way

Know that you aren’t forgotten,

My earthly realm may have ceased to stay

But Celestial memories are fossils.

You and I met at an intersection

And had to someday deviate,

From a path we walked in unison,

It was time that we walked away.

Maybe someday we will meet again?

Life has an interesting path to take,

You and I may meet at cross roads…

The intersection of Destiny’s Lemniscate.

Leave a Reply

